Medicare Part A: Everything you need to know

Medicare A, B, D, and what about C? With all the different Medicare plans, it is easy to get confused and concerned about your coverage. Over the next few weeks, we will be breaking down what the different letter plans represent and what is covered. Stay tuned for next week’s breakdown of Medicare Plan B.

Traditional Medicare is broken into two: Part A and Part B. Medicare Part A is commonly referred to as “Hospital Insurance” this means that generally all hospital expenses are covered. From Skilled nursing facilities to Hospice and almost everything in between. Below you will find a detailed list of what Part A entails.


Hospital Care (Acute, Critical, Inpatient, and Long-term care Hospitals)

  • General Nursing
  • Meals
  • Semi-Private Rooms
  • Inpatient treatment drugs
  • Miscellaneous hospital services and supplies

Skilled Nursing Facility Care

  • Medications
  • Semi-Private Rooms
  • Skilled Nursing Care
  • Physical and occupational therapy

Nursing Home Care

  • Medically necessary care, i.e: changing sterile dressings

Hospice (Terminal illness care)

  • Doctor and nursing services
  • Medical equipment and supplies
  • Therapy services
  • Short-term inpatient and respite care
  • Prescription drugs for symptom/ pain relief

Home Health Services

  • Physical and occupational therapy
  • Medical social services
  • Part-time or intermittent skilled nursing or home health aide services


As you can see Part A has great coverage for many different health care scenarios. As always, we would be happy to address any additional questions or concerns you have regarding Medicare and health care. 

Check back next week, for an in-depth description of Medicare Part B!



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *